close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

News of the World by Paulette Jiles

Between the Lines Book Club

2018-10-25 10:15:00 2018-10-25 11:30:00 America/Chicago News of the World by Paulette Jiles The Between the Lines Book Club reads "News of the World" by Paulette Jiles. Books for this discussion can be picked up at the circulation desk a month prior to the event. Dyer-Schererville

Thursday, October 25
10:15am - 11:30am

Add to Calendar 2018-10-25 10:15:00 2018-10-25 11:30:00 America/Chicago News of the World by Paulette Jiles The Between the Lines Book Club reads "News of the World" by Paulette Jiles. Books for this discussion can be picked up at the circulation desk a month prior to the event. Dyer-Schererville

Dyer-Schererville

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

The Between the Lines Book Club reads "News of the World" by Paulette Jiles. Books for this discussion can be picked up at the circulation desk a month prior to the event.

In the aftermath of the Civil War, an aging itinerant news reader agrees to transport a young captive of the Kiowa back to her people in this exquisitely rendered, morally complex, multilayered novel of historical fiction from the author of Enemy Women that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

Their 400-mile journey south through unsettled territory and unforgiving terrain proves difficult and at times dangerous. Johanna has forgotten the English language, tries to escape at every opportunity, throws away her shoes, and refuses to act “civilized.” Yet as the miles pass, the two lonely survivors tentatively begin to trust each other, forming a bond that marks the difference between life and death in this treacherous land.

Arriving in San Antonio, the reunion is neither happy nor welcome. The captain must hand Johanna over to an aunt and uncle she does not remember—strangers who regard her as an unwanted burden. A respectable man, Captain Kidd is faced with a terrible choice: abandon the girl to her fate or become—in the eyes of the law—a kidnapper himself.

TAGS: | Discussion Groups |

Dyer-Schererville

Phone: 219-322-4731

Branch manager
Chris

Hours
Mon, Feb 11 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Tue, Feb 12 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Wed, Feb 13 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Thu, Feb 14 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Fri, Feb 15 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 16 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Feb 17 Closed

About the branch

The Dyer-Schererville Branch is located in Schererville on the south side of US 30 (Lincoln Highway), just west of US 41 (Indianapolis Boulevard) at Fountain Park Drive. The branch features a warm and inviting atmosphere with wood furnishings, subtle colors, brick accents, and friendly staff. Along with a large collection of books, audio, and DVDs for all ages, eighteen internet stations and free WiFi are provided. Educational and entertaining events occur monthly. Visit Check Out to apply for a library card and stop by Information for help with locating materials, using a computer, or finding a good book to read.

Upcoming events

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Feb 16, 10:30am - 11:00am

Sat, Feb 16, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Feb 18, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Feb 18, 1:30pm - 2:15pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Mon, Feb 18, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Feb 19, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Feb 19, 1:30pm - 2:15pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Feb 19, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
This event is full

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Feb 20, 10:15am - 10:45am

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Feb 20, 11:15am - 11:45am

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Wed, Feb 20, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Feb 23, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Feb 25, 12:30pm - 2:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Feb 26, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
This event is full

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Feb 26, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Wed, Feb 27, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Thu, Feb 28, 10:15am - 11:30am

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Sat, Mar 02, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Sat, Mar 02, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Mar 02, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Mon, Mar 04, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Lobby
Tue, Mar 05, 12:30pm - 2:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Mar 06, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Mar 07, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Mar 11, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Mar 11, 1:30pm - 2:15pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Mar 12, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Mar 12, 1:30pm - 2:15pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Mar 12, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Mar 13, 10:15am - 10:45am

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Mar 13, 11:15am - 11:45am

Meeting Room A
Wed, Mar 13, 5:00pm - 6:30pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Mar 13, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Thu, Mar 14, 11:00am - 3:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Mar 16, 10:30am - 11:00am

Sat, Mar 16, 11:00am - 12:00pm