close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue

2018-06-20 18:30:00 2018-06-20 19:30:00 America/Chicago Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue The unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy Cedar Lake

Wednesday, June 20
6:30pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2018-06-20 18:30:00 2018-06-20 19:30:00 America/Chicago Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue The unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy Cedar Lake

Cedar Lake

Meeting Room A

The unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy

Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, has come to the United States to provide a better life for himself, his wife, Neni, and their six-year-old son. In the fall of 2007, Jende can hardly believe his luck when he lands a job as a chauffeur for Clark Edwards, a senior executive at Lehman Brothers. Clark demands punctuality, discretion, and loyalty—and Jende is eager to please. Clark’s wife, Cindy, even offers Neni temporary work at the Edwardses’ summer home in the Hamptons. With these opportunities, Jende and Neni can at last gain a foothold in America and imagine a brighter future.

However, the world of great power and privilege conceals troubling secrets, and soon Jende and Neni notice cracks in their employers’ façades.

When the financial world is rocked by the collapse of Lehman Brothers, the Jongas are desperate to keep Jende’s job—even as their marriage threatens to fall apart. As all four lives are dramatically upended, Jende and Neni are forced to make an impossible choice.

TAGS: | Discussion Groups |

Cedar Lake

Phone: 219-374-7121

Branch manager
Jon Davis

Hours
Mon, Oct 22 12:30PM to 8:30PM
Tue, Oct 23 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Wed, Oct 24 12:30PM to 8:30PM
Thu, Oct 25 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Oct 26 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Oct 27 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Oct 28 Closed

About the branch

The Cedar Lake Branch of Lake County Public Library is known for its spacious, beautiful building, which opened to the public in May of 2006. At 20,000 square feet, this new building is the third largest branch in the library system and is located just to the east of the high school from the Hanover School Corporation on West 133rd Ave. We have three private study rooms and a public meeting room that can accommodate up to 100 people. Every month we hold many preschool, toddler, infant, family and adult classes and events. From computer classes, to arts and crafts, to game night, we've got something for everyone, no matter your age!

Upcoming events

Meeting Room A
Mon, Oct 22, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Tables
Mon, Oct 22, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Oct 23, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Oct 23, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Oct 24, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
This event is full

Meeting Room A
Wed, Oct 24, 6:00pm - 8:15pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Oct 25, 10:30am - 11:15am

Meeting Room A
Thu, Oct 25, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Oct 29, 5:30pm - 7:30pm

Tables
Mon, Oct 29, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Oct 31, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room A
Thu, Nov 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Fri, Nov 02, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Fri, Nov 02, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Tables
Mon, Nov 05, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Nov 06, 10:30am - 11:30am

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Nov 08, 10:30am - 11:15am

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Nov 10, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, Nov 10, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Nov 12, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Tables
Mon, Nov 12, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Nov 13, 10:30am - 11:30am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Nov 13, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Nov 13, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Nov 14, 1:30pm - 2:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Fri, Nov 16, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Fri, Nov 16, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, Nov 17, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, Nov 17, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Nov 19, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Tables
Mon, Nov 19, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Nov 20, 10:30am - 11:30am

Meeting Room A
Tue, Nov 20, 3:00pm - 5:00pm