close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Register 50 Seats Remaining

Movie and Discussion: STEP

Co-Sponsored with AAUW

2018-06-26 13:30:00 2018-06-26 15:30:00 America/Chicago Movie and Discussion: STEP Watch STEP: A Real Life Story and discuss with the American Association of University Women and professors. Dyer-Schererville

Tuesday, June 26
1:30pm - 3:30pm

Add to Calendar 2018-06-26 13:30:00 2018-06-26 15:30:00 America/Chicago Movie and Discussion: STEP Watch STEP: A Real Life Story and discuss with the American Association of University Women and professors. Dyer-Schererville

Dyer-Schererville

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)

Watch STEP: A Real Life Story and discuss with the American Association of University Women and professors.

Set against the backdrop of Baltimore’s inner city, Step chronicles the senior year of a girls’ high school step dance team. Empowered by their teachers, coaches, families, and each other, they strive to win a championship and go to college. Deeply insightful and inspiring, this powerful film embodies the true meaning of sisterhood through a story of courageous young women worth cheering for.

This documentary directed by Amanda Lipitz has a run time of 83 minutes.

Enjoy refreshments while discussing the overarching themes of the movie including poverty, violence, mental illness, and being the first in the family to attend college.

Dyer-Schererville

Phone: 219-322-4731

Branch manager
Chris Rettig

Hours
Mon, Oct 15 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Tue, Oct 16 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Wed, Oct 17 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Thu, Oct 18 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Fri, Oct 19 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Oct 20 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Oct 21 Closed

About the branch

The Dyer-Schererville Branch is located in Schererville on the south side of US 30 (Lincoln Highway), just west of US 41 (Indianapolis Boulevard) at Fountain Park Drive. The branch features a warm and inviting atmosphere with wood furnishings, subtle colors, brick accents, and friendly staff. Along with a large collection of books, audio, and DVDs for all ages, eighteen internet stations and free WiFi are provided. Educational and entertaining events occur monthly. Visit Check Out to apply for a library card and stop by Information for help with locating materials, using a computer, or finding a good book to read.

Upcoming events

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Oct 17, 10:15am - 10:45am
Registration is now closed

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Oct 17, 11:15am - 11:45am

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Wed, Oct 17, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Children's Area
Sat, Oct 20, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Sat, Oct 20, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Oct 22, 12:30pm - 2:30pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Mon, Oct 22, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Oct 23, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Wed, Oct 24, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Thu, Oct 25, 10:15am - 11:30am

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Oct 25, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Mon, Oct 29, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Tue, Oct 30, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Oct 30, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Wed, Oct 31, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Nov 01, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Sat, Nov 03, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Nov 03, 10:00am - 11:00am

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Sat, Nov 03, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Nov 05, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Mon, Nov 05, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Nov 05, 1:30pm - 2:15pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Mon, Nov 05, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Nov 06, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Nov 06, 1:30pm - 2:15pm

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Nov 07, 10:15am - 10:45am

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Nov 07, 11:15am - 11:45am

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Sat, Nov 10, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Nov 12, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Nov 12, 1:30pm - 2:15pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Nov 13, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Nov 13, 1:30pm - 2:15pm

Meeting Room Whole (A & B)
Tue, Nov 13, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Nov 14, 10:15am - 10:45am

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Nov 14, 11:15am - 11:45am

Meeting Room B
Wed, Nov 14, 5:00pm - 6:30pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Nov 14, 6:30pm - 7:30pm