close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

English as a Second Language (ESL)

2018-10-10 18:00:00 2018-10-10 20:00:00 America/Chicago English as a Second Language (ESL) English Classes are for participants who are learning English as a second language. Different levels are available. Classes are free. Merrillville

Wednesday, October 10
6:00pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2018-10-10 18:00:00 2018-10-10 20:00:00 America/Chicago English as a Second Language (ESL) English Classes are for participants who are learning English as a second language. Different levels are available. Classes are free. Merrillville

Merrillville

Meeting Room A

English Classes are for participants who are learning English as a second language. Different levels are available. Classes are free.

Merrillville

Phone: 219-769-3541

Branch manager
Carol Daumer Gutjahr

Hours
Mon, Oct 15 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Oct 16 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Oct 17 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Oct 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Oct 19 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Oct 20 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Oct 21 12:00PM to 4:00PM

About the branch

The Merrillville branch library encompasses over 114,000 sq ft of electronic and print resources, and visual and musical collections. The library offers free WIFI, public internet computers, rooms for quiet study, and public meeting rooms. Our vast collections of Lake County history and genealogy sources make the Merrillville branch a popular destination for research by visitors from all around the country.

Merrillville branch has three fantastic floors of informational and recreational materials. The main floor contains our popular collection of new books, large-print material, magazines and newspapers, teen, anime, and an enormous selection of music and DVDs. Our Genealogy Room has numerous resources including microfilm of local newspapers, obituary indexes, and many other historical resources. Our Book Sale room, open during select hours Monday-Saturday, is full of unique finds. Merrillville Branch is also home to our Talking Books Department, which serves residents with physical or visual disabilities.

The Upper Level includes tables for quiet study, a tremendous reference collection, our “Indiana Room” for specialized Hoosier historical research, and our locally known statue “The Reader” by artist Hermann Gurfinkel.

The entire lower level houses our bright and airy Children's Department where children will find fun games, books, music and magazines to fulfill their reading pleasure as well as attend engaging kids’ programs. This is also where our public meeting rooms are located, where our library events and programs are held.

Upcoming events

Meeting Room A
Sat, Oct 20, 10:00am - 11:30am

Meeting Room A
Sat, Oct 20, 1:00pm - 2:15pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, Oct 20, 2:45pm - 4:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Oct 22, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room B
Mon, Oct 22, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Meeting Room C
Mon, Oct 22, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Oct 22, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Meeting Room C
Tue, Oct 23, 9:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Oct 23, 10:00am - 10:45am

Meeting Room C
Tue, Oct 23, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Oct 23, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Oct 24, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Oct 24, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Oct 25, 10:00am - 11:00am

genealogy room
Thu, Oct 25, 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Meeting Room A
Thu, Oct 25, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Meeting Room A
Fri, Oct 26, 10:00am - 11:30am

Meeting Room A
Fri, Oct 26, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Meeting Room B
Fri, Oct 26, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Oct 27, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room A
Sat, Oct 27, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Oct 29, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Meeting Room B
Mon, Oct 29, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
This event is full

Meeting Room A
Mon, Oct 29, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Meeting Room C
Tue, Oct 30, 9:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Oct 30, 10:00am - 10:45am

Meeting Room A
Tue, Oct 30, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Meeting Room B
Tue, Oct 30, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Oct 30, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Oct 31, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Oct 31, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Meeting Room C
Thu, Nov 01, 9:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Nov 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room B
Thu, Nov 01, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Fri, Nov 02, 10:30am - 11:30am

Meeting Room A
Sat, Nov 03, 9:30am - 10:30am
This event is full

Meeting Room B
Sat, Nov 03, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Nov 05, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room B
Mon, Nov 05, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Nov 05, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Nov 06, 10:00am - 10:45am

Meeting Room A
Tue, Nov 06, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Nov 07, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Nov 07, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Nov 07, 6:00pm - 6:45pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Nov 08, 10:00am - 11:00am

Meeting Room A
Thu, Nov 08, 6:15pm - 8:15pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, Nov 10, 9:30am - 10:30am
This event is full

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Nov 10, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room B
Sat, Nov 10, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Meeting Room B
Mon, Nov 12, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Nov 13, 10:00am - 10:45am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Nov 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room B
Tue, Nov 13, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Nov 14, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Thu, Nov 15, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Meeting Room C
Fri, Nov 16, 9:00am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Fri, Nov 16, 10:30am - 11:30am

Meeting Room A
Sat, Nov 17, 9:30am - 10:30am
This event is full

Meeting Room A
Mon, Nov 19, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Nov 19, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room B
Mon, Nov 19, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Nov 19, 1:00pm - 3:00pm