close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

An Inside Look at the Library of Congress

2018-04-14 13:00:00 2018-04-14 14:00:00 America/Chicago An Inside Look at the Library of Congress Modern Marvels explodes the myth that this 200 year old institution is simply "where members of Congress borrow books." Cedar Lake

Saturday, April 14
1:00pm - 2:00pm

Add to Calendar 2018-04-14 13:00:00 2018-04-14 14:00:00 America/Chicago An Inside Look at the Library of Congress Modern Marvels explodes the myth that this 200 year old institution is simply "where members of Congress borrow books." Cedar Lake

Cedar Lake

Meeting Room A

Modern Marvels explodes the myth that this 200 year old institution is simply "where members of Congress borrow books."

Where in Washington DC is the nation's most incredible treasure chest? It's a library unlike any other in the world, the U.S. Library of Congress in Washington D.C. Viewers are taken beyond the magnificent Jefferson Building Great Hall into the secret vaults where more than 600 miles of shelves hold 130 million items, many of them priceless treasures - from George Washington's hand-written diaries to Galileo's first images of the moon to the original camera film of the movie Frankenstein. See how a staff of 4000 catalogues protects and preserves these treasures and distributes them globally via a new World Digital Library.

The film is 47 minutes.

TAGS: | Movies |

Cedar Lake

Phone: 219-374-7121

Branch manager
Jon

Hours
Mon, Mar 18 12:30PM to 8:30PM
Tue, Mar 19 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Wed, Mar 20 12:30PM to 8:30PM
Thu, Mar 21 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Mar 22 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Mar 23 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Mar 24 Closed

About the branch

The Cedar Lake Branch of Lake County Public Library is known for its spacious, beautiful building, which opened to the public in May of 2006. At 20,000 square feet, this new building is the third largest branch in the library system and is located just to the east of the high school from the Hanover School Corporation on West 133rd Ave. We have three private study rooms and a public meeting room that can accommodate up to 100 people. Every month we hold many preschool, toddler, infant, family and adult classes and events. From computer classes, to arts and crafts, to game night, we've got something for everyone, no matter your age!

Upcoming events

Meeting Room A
Sat, Mar 23, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Mar 25, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Public Tables
Mon, Mar 25, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Mar 26, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Mar 27, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
This event is full

Meeting Room A
Wed, Mar 27, 3:30pm - 5:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Mar 28, 10:30am - 11:15am

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Apr 01, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Public Tables
Mon, Apr 01, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Apr 03, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Meeting Room A
Thu, Apr 04, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Fri, Apr 05, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Fri, Apr 05, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Apr 08, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Public Tables
Mon, Apr 08, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Apr 09, 10:30am - 11:30am

Meeting Room A
Tue, Apr 09, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Apr 10, 1:30pm - 2:30pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Apr 10, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Apr 11, 10:30am - 11:15am

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Apr 13, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Apr 15, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Public Tables
Mon, Apr 15, 7:00pm - 8:15pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Apr 16, 3:30pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room A
Thu, Apr 18, 3:30pm - 5:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Fri, Apr 19, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Fri, Apr 19, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, Apr 20, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, Apr 20, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Apr 22, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Apr 22, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Public Tables
Mon, Apr 22, 7:00pm - 8:15pm