close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

An Inside Look at the Library of Congress

2018-04-14 13:00:00 2018-04-14 14:00:00 America/Chicago An Inside Look at the Library of Congress Modern Marvels explodes the myth that this 200 year old institution is simply "where members of Congress borrow books." Cedar Lake

Saturday, April 14
1:00pm - 2:00pm

Add to Calendar 2018-04-14 13:00:00 2018-04-14 14:00:00 America/Chicago An Inside Look at the Library of Congress Modern Marvels explodes the myth that this 200 year old institution is simply "where members of Congress borrow books." Cedar Lake

Cedar Lake

Meeting Room A

Modern Marvels explodes the myth that this 200 year old institution is simply "where members of Congress borrow books."

Where in Washington DC is the nation's most incredible treasure chest? It's a library unlike any other in the world, the U.S. Library of Congress in Washington D.C. Viewers are taken beyond the magnificent Jefferson Building Great Hall into the secret vaults where more than 600 miles of shelves hold 130 million items, many of them priceless treasures - from George Washington's hand-written diaries to Galileo's first images of the moon to the original camera film of the movie Frankenstein. See how a staff of 4000 catalogues protects and preserves these treasures and distributes them globally via a new World Digital Library.

The film is 47 minutes.

TAGS: | Movies |

Cedar Lake

Phone: 219-374-7121

Branch manager
Jon Davis

Hours
Mon, Apr 23 12:30PM to 8:30PM
Tue, Apr 24 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Wed, Apr 25 12:30PM to 8:30PM
Thu, Apr 26 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Apr 27 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Apr 28 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Apr 29 Closed

About the branch

The Cedar Lake Branch of Lake County Public Library is known for its spacious, beautiful building, which opened to the public in May of 2006. At 20,000 square feet, this new building is the third largest branch in the library system and is located just to the east of the high school from the Hanover School Corporation on West 133rd Ave. We have three private study rooms and a public meeting room that can accommodate up to 100 people. Every month we hold many preschool, toddler, infant, family and adult classes and events. From computer classes, to arts and crafts, to game night, we've got something for everyone, no matter your age!

Upcoming events

Meeting Room A
Wed, Apr 25, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Registration is now closed

Meeting Room A
Wed, Apr 25, 2:30pm - 3:30pm
Registration is now closed

Wed, Apr 25, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Apr 26, 10:30am - 11:15am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, May 01, 10:30am - 11:30am

Meeting Room A
Wed, May 02, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Meeting Room A
Thu, May 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Fri, May 04, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Fri, May 04, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, May 08, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, May 10, 10:30am - 11:15am

Meeting Room A
Mon, May 14, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, May 14, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, May 15, 10:30am - 11:30am

Meeting Room A
Tue, May 15, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, May 16, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Fri, May 18, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Fri, May 18, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, May 19, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, May 19, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, May 24, 10:30am - 11:15am