close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Music in Nature: Frog Calls

Come hear frog calls from our amphibian visitors!

2018-07-26 14:00:00 2018-07-26 15:00:00 America/Chicago Music in Nature: Frog Calls Dunes Learning Center Outreach Educators will highlight the natural music that native animals create to find a mate, identify territories, and notify others of a threat. Munster

Thursday, July 26
2:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2018-07-26 14:00:00 2018-07-26 15:00:00 America/Chicago Music in Nature: Frog Calls Dunes Learning Center Outreach Educators will highlight the natural music that native animals create to find a mate, identify territories, and notify others of a threat. Munster

Munster

Large Meeting Room

Dunes Learning Center Outreach Educators will highlight the natural music that native animals create to find a mate, identify territories, and notify others of a threat.

In this program Dunes Learning Center Outreach Educators will highlight the natural music that native animals create to find a mate, identify territories, and notify others of a threat.  Participants will learn about the calls and seasons of five local frog species, and be able to replicate the calls using various household materials creating a frog choir.  Also, educators will challenge participants to match up the calls of commonly seen and heard bird species of the Munster area using mnemonics and other hints.  In addition, native animals that have specialty or unique vocal abilities will be discussed.
*Depending on weather, some live specimens of the frog species discussed will be brought to the program.

TAGS: | Special Events |

Munster

Phone: 219-836-8450

Branch manager
Susan

Hours
Mon, Feb 11 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Tue, Feb 12 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Wed, Feb 13 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Thu, Feb 14 10:00AM to 8:30PM
Fri, Feb 15 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 16 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Feb 17 Closed

About the branch

The Munster Branch is a convenient, vibrant community center and educational hot spot for residents in the Lake County Public Library District and surrounding areas. Our goal is to be an inviting place where the community looks forward to visiting and using the library's services with their friends and family. This year, over 147,000 people walked through our doors and received wonderful service from the Munster Library staff.

Our library contains library materials for adults, teens and children along with ample seating, a meeting room, program room, WiFi access, public computers and study rooms.  We also provide a variety of programs for people of all ages in-house and at Munster schools. We take pride in our community by featuring and co-hosting programs with local non-profit organizations.

Come visit us soon and let us know how we can be part of your life!

Upcoming events

Large Meeting Room
Mon, Feb 18, 12:00pm - 2:30pm

Children's Program Room
Mon, Feb 18, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Large Meeting Room
Tue, Feb 19, 10:30am - 11:45am

Children's Program Room
Tue, Feb 19, 10:30am - 11:30am

Children's Program Room
Wed, Feb 20, 10:30am - 11:30am

Large Meeting Room
Fri, Feb 22, 3:00pm - 5:30pm

Children's Program Room
Mon, Feb 25, 10:30am - 11:30am

Children's Program Room
Mon, Feb 25, 11:30am - 12:30pm

Large Meeting Room
Tue, Feb 26, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Children's Program Room
Wed, Feb 27, 10:30am - 11:00am

Large Meeting Room
Wed, Feb 27, 3:15pm - 4:15pm

Large Meeting Room
Thu, Feb 28, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Large Meeting Room
Fri, Mar 01, 3:00pm - 5:30pm

Children's Program Room
Tue, Mar 05, 10:30am - 11:30am

Large Meeting Room
Tue, Mar 05, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Children's Program Room
Wed, Mar 06, 10:30am - 11:30am

Large Meeting Room
Thu, Mar 07, 3:15pm - 4:15pm

Children's Area
Thu, Mar 07, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Large Meeting Room
Fri, Mar 08, 3:00pm - 5:30pm

Large Meeting Room
Mon, Mar 11, 10:30am - 12:00pm

Children's Program Room
Mon, Mar 11, 10:30am - 11:30am

Children's Program Room
Mon, Mar 11, 11:30am - 12:30pm

Large Meeting Room
Mon, Mar 11, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Large Meeting Room
Tue, Mar 12, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Large Meeting Room
Tue, Mar 12, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Children's Program Room
Wed, Mar 13, 10:30am - 11:00am

Large Meeting Room
Wed, Mar 13, 3:15pm - 4:15pm

Children's Program Room
Thu, Mar 14, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Large Meeting Room
Fri, Mar 15, 3:00pm - 5:30pm

Large Meeting Room
Mon, Mar 18, 10:30am - 12:00pm

Children's Program Room
Mon, Mar 18, 12:00pm - 2:30pm

Children's Program Room
Mon, Mar 18, 6:00pm - 7:00pm