close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Teen Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

2017-09-26 18:00:00 2017-09-26 20:00:00 America/Chicago Teen Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell "Smells Like Teen Spirit" YA Book Club: Join us as we discuss the story, themes, and meaning behind the selected book. Ages 12-18. Registration is required. Merrillville

Tuesday, September 26
6:00pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2017-09-26 18:00:00 2017-09-26 20:00:00 America/Chicago Teen Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell "Smells Like Teen Spirit" YA Book Club: Join us as we discuss the story, themes, and meaning behind the selected book. Ages 12-18. Registration is required. Merrillville

Merrillville

Meeting Room B

"Smells Like Teen Spirit" YA Book Club: Join us as we discuss the story, themes, and meaning behind the selected book. Ages 12-18. Registration is required.

We will be discussing Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell:

Set over the course of one school year in 1986, this is the story of two star-crossed misfits—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love—and just how hard it pulled you under.

Prior knowledge/reading of material highly-encouraged, but not mandatory. Library Book Club copies will be available for check-out at Merrillville branch during September. Contact Merrillville branch details.

Ages 12-18. Patrons 18+ are welcome, but are reminded that discussion will be geared toward and attended mainly by school-age teens. Please register.

TAGS: | Discussion Groups |

Merrillville

Phone: 219-769-3541

Branch manager
Carol Daumer Gutjahr

Hours
We're closed Thursday November 23
Mon, Nov 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Nov 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 22 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Thu, Nov 23 Closed
Fri, Nov 24 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Nov 25 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Nov 26 12:00PM to 4:00PM

About the branch

The Merrillville branch library encompasses over 114,000 sq ft of electronic and print resources, and visual and musical collections. The library offers free WIFI, public internet computers, rooms for quiet study, and public meeting rooms. Our vast collections of Lake County history and genealogy sources make the Merrillville branch a popular destination for research by visitors from all around the country.

Merrillville branch has three fantastic floors of informational and recreational materials. The main floor contains our popular collection of new books, large-print material, magazines and newspapers, teen, anime, and an enormous selection of music and DVDs. Our Genealogy Room has numerous resources including microfilm of local newspapers, obituary indexes, and many other historical resources. Our Book Sale room, open during select hours Monday-Saturday, is full of unique finds. Merrillville Branch is also home to our Talking Books Department, which serves residents with physical or visual disabilities.

The Upper Level includes tables for quiet study, a tremendous reference collection, our “Indiana Room” for specialized Hoosier historical research, and our locally known statue “The Reader” by artist Hermann Gurfinkel.

The entire lower level houses our bright and airy Children's Department where children will find fun games, books, music and magazines to fulfill their reading pleasure as well as attend engaging kids’ programs. This is also where our public meeting rooms are located, where our library events and programs are held.

Upcoming events

Meeting Room C
Fri, Nov 24, 10:30am - 12:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Nov 25, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room A
Sat, Nov 25, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Meeting Room B
Sat, Nov 25, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Nov 28, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Nov 28, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
This event is full

Meeting Room B
Tue, Nov 28, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Meeting Room C
Thu, Nov 30, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Fri, Dec 01, 10:30am - 11:30am

Meeting Room C
Fri, Dec 01, 10:30am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, Dec 02, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Dec 04, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Dec 05, 10:00am - 10:30am

Upper Level Reference
Tue, Dec 05, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
This event is full

Meeting Room A
Wed, Dec 06, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Meeting Room C
Thu, Dec 07, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Meeting Room C
Fri, Dec 08, 10:30am - 12:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Dec 09, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room C
Sat, Dec 09, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Youth Services Department
Sat, Dec 09, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Dec 12, 10:00am - 10:30am

Board Room
Tue, Dec 12, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Dec 12, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Dec 12, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room B
Tue, Dec 12, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Dec 13, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Dec 14, 10:00am - 10:45am

Meeting Room A
Thu, Dec 14, 6:15pm - 8:15pm

Children's Programming Room
Fri, Dec 15, 10:30am - 11:30am

Meeting Room C
Fri, Dec 15, 10:30am - 12:00pm

Genealogy Room
Fri, Dec 15, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Upper Level Reference
Sat, Dec 16, 9:30am - 10:30am
This event is full

Meeting Room A
Mon, Dec 18, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Dec 18, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room A
Mon, Dec 18, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Meeting Room B
Mon, Dec 18, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Dec 19, 10:00am - 10:30am

Meeting Room B
Tue, Dec 19, 5:30pm - 8:00pm

Upper Level Seating Area
Wed, Dec 20, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
This event is full

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Dec 21, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room B
Thu, Dec 21, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Meeting Room C
Fri, Dec 22, 10:30am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, Dec 23, 9:30am - 4:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Dec 23, 10:30am - 11:00am