close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Route 66

2017-06-27 13:00:00 2017-06-27 14:00:00 America/Chicago Route 66 Explore the main street of America with Ana Grandfield. She'll share the highlights of her heartwarming journey on Route 66 that spanned 8 states from Illinois to California. Merrillville

Tuesday, June 27
1:00pm - 2:00pm

Add to Calendar 2017-06-27 13:00:00 2017-06-27 14:00:00 America/Chicago Route 66 Explore the main street of America with Ana Grandfield. She'll share the highlights of her heartwarming journey on Route 66 that spanned 8 states from Illinois to California. Merrillville

Merrillville

Meeting Room B

Explore the main street of America with Ana Grandfield. She'll share the highlights of her heartwarming journey on Route 66 that spanned 8 states from Illinois to California.

TAGS: | Special Events | Classes |

Merrillville

Phone: 219-769-3541

Branch manager
Carol Daumer Gutjahr

Hours
Mon, May 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, May 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, May 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, May 24 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, May 25 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, May 26 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, May 27 12:00PM to 4:00PM

About the branch

The Merrillville branch library encompasses over 114,000 sq ft of electronic and print resources, and visual and musical collections. The library offers free WIFI, public internet computers, rooms for quiet study, and public meeting rooms. Our vast collections of Lake County history and genealogy sources make the Merrillville branch a popular destination for research by visitors from all around the country.

Merrillville branch has three fantastic floors of informational and recreational materials. The main floor contains our popular collection of new books, large-print material, magazines and newspapers, teen, anime, and an enormous selection of music and DVDs. Our Genealogy Room has numerous resources including microfilm of local newspapers, obituary indexes, and many other historical resources. Our Book Sale room, open during select hours Monday-Saturday, is full of unique finds. Merrillville Branch is also home to our Talking Books Department, which serves residents with physical or visual disabilities.

The Upper Level includes tables for quiet study, a tremendous reference collection, our “Indiana Room” for specialized Hoosier historical research, and our locally known statue “The Reader” by artist Hermann Gurfinkel.

The entire lower level houses our bright and airy Children's Department where children will find fun games, books, music and magazines to fulfill their reading pleasure as well as attend engaging kids’ programs. This is also where our public meeting rooms are located, where our library events and programs are held.

Upcoming events

Children's Programming Room
Tue, May 29, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, May 30, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Wed, May 30, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Canceled
Thu, May 31, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Meeting Room A
Thu, May 31, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Meeting Room B
Sat, Jun 02, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Sat, Jun 02, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Jun 04, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room A
Mon, Jun 04, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Meeting Room B
Mon, Jun 04, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jun 05, 10:00am - 10:45am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jun 05, 11:15am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Tue, Jun 05, 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Jun 06, 12:00pm - 2:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Jun 06, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Jun 07, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room A
Thu, Jun 07, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Meeting Room C
Thu, Jun 07, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Fri, Jun 08, 10:30am - 11:30am

Meeting Room A
Sat, Jun 09, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Jun 11, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Meeting Room B
Mon, Jun 11, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Meeting Room C
Mon, Jun 11, 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Jun 11, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jun 12, 10:00am - 10:45am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jun 12, 11:15am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Jun 13, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Jun 13, 12:00pm - 2:00pm

Meeting Room C
Thu, Jun 14, 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Jun 14, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room A
Thu, Jun 14, 6:15pm - 8:15pm

Staff Meeting Room
Fri, Jun 15, 9:15am - 11:15am

Meeting Room A
Fri, Jun 15, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Registration opens Friday, June 1 2018 at 9:00am

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Jun 16, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room B
Mon, Jun 18, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Jun 18, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room A
Mon, Jun 18, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Meeting Room B
Mon, Jun 18, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jun 19, 10:00am - 10:45am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jun 19, 11:15am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room B
Tue, Jun 19, 5:30pm - 8:00pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Jun 20, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Jun 20, 12:00pm - 2:00pm

Meeting Room C
Wed, Jun 20, 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Wed, Jun 20, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Meeting Room B
Thu, Jun 21, 10:00am - 11:30am

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Jun 21, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Jun 21, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Meeting Room A
Fri, Jun 22, 10:00am - 11:30am

Meeting Room C
Fri, Jun 22, 10:00am - 1:00pm

Meeting Room A
Fri, Jun 22, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Meeting Room B
Fri, Jun 22, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, Jun 23, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Jun 25, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jun 26, 10:00am - 10:45am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jun 26, 11:15am - 12:00pm