close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Haunted Indiana

2017-06-17 14:00:00 2017-06-17 15:00:00 America/Chicago Haunted Indiana Ursula Bielski, historian & author of "Chicago Haunts" & "Haunted Gary" will be presenting ghostly folklore about NW Indiana including Cedar Lake, Dyer, Gary, Griffith & Munster. Merrillville

Saturday, June 17
2:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2017-06-17 14:00:00 2017-06-17 15:00:00 America/Chicago Haunted Indiana Ursula Bielski, historian & author of "Chicago Haunts" & "Haunted Gary" will be presenting ghostly folklore about NW Indiana including Cedar Lake, Dyer, Gary, Griffith & Munster. Merrillville

Merrillville

Meeting Room A

Ursula Bielski, historian & author of "Chicago Haunts" & "Haunted Gary" will be presenting ghostly folklore about NW Indiana including Cedar Lake, Dyer, Gary, Griffith & Munster.

Merrillville

Phone: 219-769-3541

Branch manager
Carol Daumer Gutjahr

Hours
Mon, Jun 19 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jun 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jun 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jun 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Jun 23 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 24 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jun 25 12:00PM to 4:00PM

About the branch

The Merrillville branch library encompasses over 114,000 sq ft of electronic and print resources, and visual and musical collections. The library offers free WIFI, public internet computers, rooms for quiet study, and public meeting rooms. Our vast collections of Lake County history and genealogy sources make the Merrillville branch a popular destination for research by visitors from all around the country.

Merrillville branch has three fantastic floors of informational and recreational materials. The main floor contains our popular collection of new books, large-print material, magazines and newspapers, teen, anime, and an enormous selection of music and DVDs. Our Genealogy Room has numerous resources including microfilm of local newspapers, obituary indexes, and many other historical resources. Our Book Sale room, open during select hours Monday-Saturday, is full of unique finds. Merrillville Branch is also home to our Talking Books Department, which serves residents with physical or visual disabilities.

The Upper Level includes tables for quiet study, a tremendous reference collection, our “Indiana Room” for specialized Hoosier historical research, and our locally known statue “The Reader” by artist Hermann Gurfinkel.

The entire lower level houses our bright and airy Children's Department where children will find fun games, books, music and magazines to fulfill their reading pleasure as well as attend engaging kids’ programs. This is also where our public meeting rooms are located, where our library events and programs are held.

Upcoming events

Meeting Room A
Fri, Jun 23, 10:00am - 11:30am

Meeting Room B
Fri, Jun 23, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Registration is now closed

Meeting Room A
Fri, Jun 23, 11:45am - 1:30pm

Youth Services Department
Fri, Jun 23, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, Jun 24, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Jun 26, 10:30am - 11:00am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jun 27, 10:00am - 10:45am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jun 27, 11:15am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room B
Tue, Jun 27, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Meeting Room C
Tue, Jun 27, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jun 27, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Jun 28, 10:30am - 11:30am

Meeting Room A
Wed, Jun 28, 12:00pm - 2:00pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Jun 28, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Jun 29, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Meeting Room A
Fri, Jun 30, 10:30am - 11:30am

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Jul 01, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room B
Wed, Jul 05, 10:30am - 11:30am

Meeting Room A
Wed, Jul 05, 12:00pm - 2:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Jul 06, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Meeting Room B
Thu, Jul 06, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Meeting Room A
Fri, Jul 07, 10:30am - 11:30am

Children's Programming Room
Mon, Jul 10, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room B
Mon, Jul 10, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jul 11, 10:00am - 10:45am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jul 11, 11:15am - 12:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jul 11, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room B
Tue, Jul 11, 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Jul 12, 10:30am - 12:30pm

Meeting Room A
Wed, Jul 12, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Jul 12, 2:00pm - 4:15pm

Meeting Room A
Thu, Jul 13, 10:30am - 11:30am

Children's Programming Room
Thu, Jul 13, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Meeting Room A
Thu, Jul 13, 6:15pm - 8:15pm

Meeting Room A
Fri, Jul 14, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Sat, Jul 15, 10:30am - 11:00am

Meeting Room A
Mon, Jul 17, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room A
Mon, Jul 17, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Cafe Area
Mon, Jul 17, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jul 18, 10:00am - 10:45am

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jul 18, 11:15am - 12:00pm

Children's Programming Room
Tue, Jul 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room B
Tue, Jul 18, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Jul 19, 10:30am - 11:30am

Meeting Room A
Wed, Jul 19, 12:00pm - 2:00pm

Quiet Study Room #3
Thu, Jul 20, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Meeting Room A
Thu, Jul 20, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Staff Meeting Room
Fri, Jul 21, 9:15am - 11:15am

Meeting Room C
Fri, Jul 21, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Meeting Room B
Fri, Jul 21, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Meeting Room A
Fri, Jul 21, 1:30pm - 3:30pm

Meeting Room A
Sat, Jul 22, 1:00pm - 3:30pm